Christmas Tracing

Christmas is a time of year when children can learn a lot of valuable skills. One fun activity you can do to help your child learn during the holiday season is to provide them with Christmas tracing worksheets.

These activity pages will help them improve their hand-eye coordination, fine motor skills, and penmanship.

Then, be sure to check out our other Christmas activities for preschoolers. We have a variety of activities that will help keep your child learning and entertained throughout the holiday season!

fine-motor-tracing-worksheets-683x1024 Christmas Tracing

Preschool Christmas Tracing Worksheets

Young children need to build strong muscles in their hands and fingers. These fine motor muscles help children cut paper, fasten buttons, tie shoelaces, and much more.

They strengthen these little muscles when they use scissors, trace lines, manipulate playdough, and more.

Keep reading to learn:

  • the educational benefits of tracing printables
  • additional ways to use these free printables
  • more fun Christmas activities for preschoolers

Christmas Tracing

Tracing printables are a great way to help your preschooler develop their fine motor skills.

When a child traces the lines in these worksheets, they have to use concentration and focus to move their pencil from one place to another.

By providing your child with tracing worksheets, you are helping them to develop the necessary skills they need for writing and handwriting.

What You’ll Need

  • Paper
  • Pencils
  • Crayons

To access the free printables, enter your information in the box at the bottom of the post.

Then, download the worksheets to your computer and print the ones you want to use.

Feel free to make as many copies of these worksheets that you need for your kiddos.

What’s Included?

This pack of preschool worksheets includes 12 different worksheets for your kids to trace.

Each one features a different style line – from straight lines to zig zags and everything in between.

What You’ll Do

To help kids work on important early childhood tracing skills during the Christmas season, provide them with tracing worksheets.

These printable activities will help improve their hand-eye coordination, fine motor skills, and penmanship.

Print the Santa Claus tracing pages and present them to your child with crayons or colored pencils.

Have children start at the dots, and trace the line to the end. Encourage them to go slowly to follow the lines as carefully as possible.

You can make these free Christmas printables reusable by laminating them or slipping them in a dry erase pocket.

If you do this, let your child trace the lines with dry erase markers. Then, wipe them clean when they’re done.

christmas-tracing-1024x1024 Christmas Tracing

Why use tracing activities with preschoolers?

Our free printable Christmas worksheets are a great way provide children with an opportunity to strengthen fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination.

First, when you provide your child with the pages in this Christmas theme pack, you allow them to practice pencil grip and pencil control.

Finally, they will strengthen hand-eye coordination as they practice tracing the dotted lines from the black dot to the bottom of the line.

Remember, tracing the lines is a difficult skill. So, start with straight or slightly curved lines. Print these pages as often as needed until your child is proficient.

Gradually increase the difficulty of the lines. Starting with the simplest lines and gradually making them harder allows your little learner to succeed over and over again!

santa-trace-ig Christmas Tracing

How else can you use these printables?

You can use this Christmas-themed worksheet pack as coloring sheets if you print them on white paper. After coloring Santa’s face and hat, kids can complete the tracing practice portion.

If you want to use these as simple tracing practice pages, you can print them on colored printer paper for a fun twist.

If you need cutting practice pages, these free Christmas worksheets can work for that, as well. Have young learners start at the bottom of the page and cut the beard to the big black dot.

Christmas-Tracing-fb-1024x536 Christmas Tracing

More Christmas Printables

Do you need more Christmas printables to round out your lessons? Try one of these.

PRESCHOOL BOOKS ABOUT CHRISTMAS

In addition to tracing worksheets, preschoolers can also learn through Christmas picture books.

Below are some our favorite preschool books about Christmas:

The Night Before Christmas – Carry on a family tradition or start one of your own with this new version of the classic Christmas book for children and families.

Little Red Sleigh – Believe in the magic of Christmas with this heartwarming Christmas picture book about the little red sleigh that could, perfect for fans of The Polar Express!

How The Grinch Stole Christmas! – This book follows the Grinch as he tries to steal Christmas from the residents of Whoville. It teaches kids about the importance of being kind and generous during the Christmas season.

A Charlie Brown Christmas – This book follows Charlie Brown as he tries to find meaning in the Christmas season. It teaches kids about the importance of being grateful for what they have during the holiday season.

christmas-tracing-2-683x1024 Christmas Tracing

Christmas Activities for Kids

These handmade, adorable Christmas finger puppets are perfect for Holiday party favors or any play day!

Turn ordinary laundry pins into a fun clothespin Christmas tree ornament that your kids will love hanging on the tree this season. 

These free tracing worksheets are a fun way for preschoolers to work on important motor skills.

Do you have a favorite tracing activity you use with your preschoolers? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One Comment